Giving . . . . . Wisely

I’ve always heard the ol’ phrase ‘it is better to give than to receive.’  But just what are we “giving”?  Money? Tangible items?  Time?  Expertise?  There are many ways to give.  But – how many times do we really sit down and consider what we are giving to?  Do we ever research the organization and read about their mission, their vision or their goals?  What about the person who heads the organization – do we ever consider the level of leadership this person gives to the organization?  How is our donation used?

I have certain charities I routinely support.  Since my diagnosis I have supported a foundation somewhat relative to this disease.  Earlier this year there was a exposé on them that uncovered some facts I was unaware of.  What I learned changed my thinking.

This year I also became aware of another organization.  This one is special to me for two reasons.  First, it focuses only on the disease I was diagnosed with.  Second, I really like what they are doing and the goals they have established for where they are heading.

The Rheumatoid Patient Foundation (RPF) is the organization.  Their vision is a world where no one suffers from rheumatoid disease.  Their mission is to improve the lives of people with rheumatoid disease.  They reference concepts like teamwork with patients, integrity, advocacy and support.  The founder of RPF is Kelly Young – you  know her as R.A. Warrior.

I encourage you to look at RPF and what they are doing.  Consider becoming a member or make a donation.  It is critical for people who live with rheumatoid disease to have an advocate and RPF is solely focused on this disease.  They are a 501c3.

In this season of sharing and giving, please consider supporting the Rheumatoid Patient Foundation.  Thank you.

RPF Badge

Rheumatoid Patient Foundation

 

Leave a Reply

