Confirmation and Gratitude

Today I want to take the opportunity to say thank you to Crescendo Bioscience, developer of the Vectra DA test.  Crescendo Bioscience is a molecular diagnostic laboratory focused on rheumatology.  If you are not familiar with the Vectra DA test, please visit their website to read their explanation of how the test works.

Crescendo Bioscience states they are “developing quantitative, objective, biology-based tests to provide rheumatologists with deeper clinical insights to help enable more effective management of patients with autoimmune and inflammatory diseases.”  While I realize this is one part of a difficult process in treating rheumatoid disease, at least it is a valuable part.

When my rheumatologist ordered the test I focused on learning more specifics.  Along with  the details of what the test evaluates and how it scores the results, I also discovered the test is costly and sometimes not covered by insurance.  I admit I was a little concerned.

About a week after the test I received a very detailed letter from Crescendo Bioscience.  They explained some basics about the test.  They also explained they work with your insurance company to obtain coverage for the test, including appeals, if necessary.  In addition, they have payment plans which you can apply for if there is an issue with insurance.

Their letter was very clear and informative.  They also provided a couple of resources for those with rheumatoid disease.

Crescendo Bioscience was very thorough in their communication to me, which was good (and comforting) since I received none of this information from my physician’s office concerning cost, potential issue with insurance coverage or potential assistance from Crescendo.

As mentioned in a previous post, I was quite surprised by the results of my Vectra DA test. And while some may dismiss my symptoms or concerns, at least this test confirms to me that there is disease activity.  As mentioned, I realize this is just one tool for rheumatoid disease, but at least we have a company that is focused on this disease.  I am very thankful for their commitment.

So – thanks Crescendo Bioscience.  Your work gives us hope.  Perhaps we’re not so alone  fighting the battle.  Maybe now they’ll believe me.

puppy_DSC6353

.

Leave a Reply

